Older…and Wiser?

Posted: October 29, 2012 in Celebrations, Family, Friendship, Health, Life, Love, Religion
Tags: , , , , ,

Well. It happened. And if we’re being honest…it kinda snuck up on me. It’d never happened before and I didn’t really know if I needed to prepare for it or not and before I knew it—there it was. It had gotten closer and closer all year long, and then yesterday there it was, staring me right in the face. So what in the world am I talking about? My 30th birthday. I am now officially 30 years old. And you know what? I don’t really feel any older and maybe more importantly, I didn’t suffer from any sort of a breakdown yesterday.

I was going to maybe talk about all the things that have changed now that I’ve started my 3rd decade of life, but I realized that between my late 20’s and now, not a lot has changed. In my life yes, but those things that have changed are completely independent of my age.

I’ve always had it in my head that the older someone gets the wiser they get. So with that being said I’m going to offer up 30 things I’ve learned over the course of the past 30 years. Some you’ll agree with, some you won’t; some will be funny, some won’t; and some you’ll be able to utilize, some you won’t. These are just things I’ve picked up along the way, and if I can learn half as much my second 30 years as I did my first, I might just be on to something.

  1. When you get angry, walk away. You say things in anger you wouldn’t normally say, and you can’t un-say things.
  2. Nothing beats the Super Mario Bros. trilogy on old school Nintendo.
  3. Be especially nice to those who are especially mean to you.
  4. Volunteer to help people who can’t help themselves.
  5. Never, under ANY circumstances, should you try to lick anything metal with frost on it. Your tongue WILL get frozen to whatever surface it may be. I promise.
  6. We were all put here for a reason—take the time to figure out what your reason is.
  7. It’s never too late to reconnect with old friends from the past.
  8. Losing weight is a whole lot harder than putting it on.
  9. Sometimes you just need to close the door, crank the tunes, and dance it out.
  10. If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything.
  11. Don’t do nice things for people expecting to be rewarded. It’s our duty as decent human beings to treat others how we would like to be treated.
  12. Drink lots of water.
  13. The most important relationship you have in your life, besides the one with yourself, is the one you have with God.
  14. Pray. And when you do so, talk to Him like you’d talk to anybody else. Without swearing.
  15. Take the time to sometimes send handwritten letters and cards to people.
  16. When you find “the one,” you’ll know. If you don’t know, then they’re not “the one.”
  17. Things don’t happen on our time so have patience and trust that we don’t always have our own best interests at heart.
  18. Tell people you love them. You never know when you may not get the chance again.
  19. Hangovers get worse the older you get.
  20. Take care of your parents. They did the same for you.
  21. Don’t get wrapped up in material possessions. When it’s all said and done your “stuff” isn’t going to matter one bit.
  22. You don’t always have to agree with other people, but you do have to respect their opinions.
  23. You’re never too old to want your mom to take care of you when you’re sick.
  24. Hugs heal.
  25. Take pictures along the way.
  26. Know that people will be mean to you, but you’ll be a lot better off if you can disregard them.
  27. Seize opportunities that appear before you. You never know when someone else will snatch it up.
  28. Don’t live afraid that something bad is going to happen. Maybe it will, maybe it won’t—but worrying about it isn’t going to stop it from happening if it’s what is meant to be.
  29. Never stop playing board games, or card games, or catch.
  30. Typing class has become one of the most hugely helpful classes I ever took.
Leave a Reply

