Just Do It

Posted: May 30, 2012 in Life
Tags: , , , ,

No. I have not become a spokesperson for Nike, although it should be noted that I totally would if they’d send me some schwag. Look at this. I’m already off topic. That’s what I get for barely blogging over the course of the past couple months apparently.

Here’s the deal. I think I need to adopt the slogan, “Just Do It.” I come up with all sorts of ideas. I even run some of them by people, thinking that if I share them, I’ll be more likely to follow through with them. When all that really happens, is two months later someone will ask me about something I mentioned to them, and I’ll think, “Huh. I never did do anything with that, did I?”

Let me give you some examples. Below is a sampling of the things that have crossed my mind in the past few months.

  • I should take piano lessons.
  • I need to get a part-time job.
  • I really need to finish up my coaching authorization classes.
  • I should finish writing my book.
  • I need to find a women’s group through church.
  • I really need to workout.
  • Maybe I should be a softball umpire.
  • I should make the _________ I found on Pinterest.

Now I should note here that with MOST of these, I did actually do some legwork. I checked into taking piano lessons, and the coaching classes. I looked into what you need to do to be a softball umpire. I actually did get involved in a church class, but now it’s over–so I need to find another one.

My issue is that I look into a lot of these things, figure out what needs to be done, and then move on to the next idea. I have horrible, horrible follow through. And I’m not sure if it’s because I don’t REALLY want to do those things, or if it’s because I’m lazy and end up so exhausted by the legwork that I opt not to go any further with the idea. Or maybe I’m just not motivated–I hate to think of myself not possessing that trait, but I can always find an excuse for not doing something. Too busy, too tired, too boring, too expensive–there’s always going to be something if you let there be something.

That’s where I steal Nike’s slogan. Just do it. Decide which things I really want to do, and do them. Why make it harder than it needs to be? I’m actually crossing two of those off the list tonight–I’m going to turn in a job application and going to workout. I gotta start somewhere, right?

So from this point forward no more backing off after the legwork is done. I’m too young to be this bad about following through, so it stops now. And if anyone wants to just do it with me, in a completely non-sexual way, I’d welcome all the support I can get.

Comments
  1. Alex Jones says:

    You need a plan and a strategy to keep to that plan to succeed.

  2. wmarsau says:

    Great motivation to follow through with things. You should check with your roomate. I hear he has a really cheap rate for piano lessons.

Leave a Reply

