Life in the Fasting Lane

Posted: April 10, 2012 in Celebrations, Family, Food, Holidays, Life, Religion
Tags: , , , , , ,

This past weekend I did something I’ve never done before. I went without food for 66 hours. From Thursday night at 6pm until noon on Sunday. Some of you know exactly why—but for those of you who don’t…we fasted for Easter.

People fast for all different reasons, but it seems especially common during Easter. The thought behind it is that Jesus went through an unbelievable amount of pain and suffering to help us, and on some very small level giving up something we’ve come to depend on helps us to not forget that.

It was hard initially, but as the time wore on, it was like my body adapted to not having food. Hunger pains came and went, but on Sunday morning I woke up not hungry one bit. It heightened my awareness of things though, because when you don’t have to worry about relying on food, you direct your attention elsewhere—and during Easter weekend, the focus became the reason for Easter. Jesus.

Throughout the course of the weekend I kept a fasting diary of sorts. Below you can read how things went.

Friday, April 6
8:01am
                 Talked to Bill. He asks if I’m hungry yet. I’m not.
10:33am               Sent Bill a text. “Okay. NOW I’m hungry.”
12:37pm               I walk to the post office and hear the Jimmy John’s on the corner summoning me.
12:49pm               I walk to Kum & Go and buy chocolate milk instead.
2:05pm                 Holy crap. I’m hungry. I haven’t eaten in 19 hours.
2:37pm                 I’ve now consumed 104 fluid ounces. I’ve never gone the bathroom this much. Ever.
5:16pm                 We start our trek home. At least we don’t have to stop for snacks.
7:00pm                 Attend the Good Friday service at Prairie Lakes Church.
8:46pm                 Friends have gotten together and are at the bar. Perfect. We stop by.
10:12pm               We arrive at Bill’s mom’s house. Day 1 is in the books.

Saturday, April 7
10:47am
               I wake up. Longer I sleep the less I have to worry about hunger apparently.
1:22pm                 We go to a 50th wedding anniversary where there are HUGE pieces of cake.
1:58pm                 Stop by the grocery store to get things for Easter dinner. I want a piece of pie.
2:32pm                 We watch several episodes of Friday Night Lights which seems to help.
7:04pm                 We watch the Passion of the Christ and I am moved to tears multiple times.
9:32pm                 Couple more episodes of FNL. Day 2 is in the books.

Sunday, April 8
7:16am
                 Get up to get ready for church. Strangely, I’m not hungry.
9:00am                 Attend Easter Sunday service at Prairie Lakes Church and am moved to tears.
11:28am               Visit Bill’s grandpa in the nursing home.
12:30pm               Easter Sunday dinner is served—the fast is over.

Bill asked me if I would’ve cried Saturday night and Sunday morning if I hadn’t been fasting—and I don’t know the answer to that, because I’ve never fasted during Easter so I don’t really have a point of reference. I can tell you this though. Sunday morning, in church, I’d never felt Easter like that before. There’s only been one other service I’ve ever cried at, and oddly enough it was the Good Friday service last year.

This past weekend took the focus off of our own needs and allowed us to focus on the bigger things at hand. Namely, how the death and resurrection of one person has now saved all of us and He has asked nothing of us in return except that we allow Him to work in our lives and do our very best to honor Him.

Next year, I invite you to fast with us. It’s not as hard as you might think it to be, although it is a little overwhelming at first. I’m not sure what kind of experience you’ll have with it, but at the very least you’ll get your fair share of water.

Comments
  1. wmarsau says:

    Great blog. It really shows you how we tend to overdue on our consumption of food.

Leave a Reply

