Sitting, Waiting, Wishing, Hoping

Posted: January 24, 2012 in Life, Love, Relationships
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m a bit of a fatalist. I am one of those people who believes that everything happens for a reason. I think that every single one of us is exactly where we are supposed to be in this moment. I also believe that people come into our lives for a reason and I think that reason isn’t always evident until after they’ve left our lives.

I know that not everyone believes this stuff and I’d be lying if I said I believed it ALL the time. I think that we do still have the power to choose, but I also think that our course has already been set for us–and I think if you choose to take a left when you should’ve taken a right, you’ll get another chance to get back on track. It’s just that now, because of your detour–your course gets a little longer, and maybe a little bit rougher.

I’m telling you all of this because in the midst of a conversation yesterday, I was told that I’m a hopeless romantic, which I didn’t take offense to by any means–but it started me thinking. Why the word hopeless? Why do people who think like me get called “hopeless” romantics? Time for a quick vocab lesson my friends.

When a word ends with ‘less,’ it means without. If someone is careless they do things without care, if someone is senseless they do things that make no sense, if someone is breathless they have no breath. Therefore, following that pattern, the word hopeless would mean without hope.

Now doesn’t it seem as though I have all the hope in the world? I think that if we so choose, we always get a chance to right our wrongs. I think that all of us could be happy if we’d just get out of our own way. I think that there is someone out there for everyone. I think that love, when nurtured properly, has the ability to heal. I also believe the children are our future (that was me channeling Whitney to see if you were paying attention).

If you ask me, I think the term should actually be hopeFUL romantic. Now don’t get me wrong, I think that people can have their heads too far up in the clouds, I think people can get consumed with their hopes. BUT…at the end of the day, I think to not have any hope, is worse. Some people are afraid to hope, because they run the risk of not having their expectations met–they run the risk of being let down, and being let down is not a good feeling. When those expectations ARE met though, when the hopes you had come true, I think that feeling makes it all worth it.

So I suppose there’s a leap of faith involved in hoping. You can either choose to live free of hope and free of risk–or you can choose to hope and maybe end up amazed. I know which one I choose. After all, I’m the hopeful romantic.

Comments
  1. wmarsau says:

    Sometimes reality beats you up pretty good and you tend to forget about things sometimes. Thanks for putting this into a good perspective for me. Outstanding blog!

  2. […] Sitting, Waiting, Wishing, Hoping […]

Leave a Reply

