Weighing In (Week 2)

Posted: January 20, 2012 in Exercise, Health, Life
Tags: , , , ,

Okay. So do you guys remember that one time last week where I said that writing this blog every Friday was going to help hold me accountable? Welllll…the bad news is that I kind of effed up workout wise this week. The good news though, is that I stuck with my healthy eating and still managed to lose two more pounds!

Week 1: January 16-20
Hours spent in gym: 1
Weight Lost: 2 pounds
Total Weight Loss to Date: 4 pounds

There’s no real rhyme or reason as to why I only spent an hour at the gym this week. I mean, I could sit here and tell you exactly why I didn’t go each day–but let’s call a spade a spade–they’d all just be excuses.

So here’s what I learned this week. First off, Mondays suck. Secondly, it’s unbelievably hard for me to get up in the morning, but if I do–my day goes SO much better. Nothing better than accomplishing an hour long workout before your day even gets started.

I’ve also noticed a couple of things at the gym. I’m working out on campus, which means that a good majority of the people there are ISU  students. This new gym has AMAZING equipment, but there are STILL guys who prefer to workout in the free weight area. You know the ones I’m talking about. Think Chris Farley in Tommy Boy when he asks where the weight room is. They have no business trying to bench press, but bless their hearts for trying.

Also, take a look at the machine to the left. It’s a hip abduction/adduction machine and it’s basically like a glorified thighmaster. For whatever reason, girls LOVE this machine. Now I use it, don’t get me wrong, but when I do I’m lifting 70 pounds and I do three reps of 10 both pushing out (abduction) and pushing in (adduction). What I DON’T do, is sit there with my legs spread, the weight set to 20, and TEXT–that is apparently what college girls do when attempting to use weight machines.

Prior to this whole workout thing, I was eating out a lot. And I wasn’t eating good food. I’m not entirely sure WHY I was doing it, because it’s not like any of us think there’s a lot nutritional value in anything off of McDonald’s dollar menu. I suppose most of it was convenience, but generally convenience foods are not good for you. I haven’t had fast food in 2 weeks now and while that’s definitely beneficial to my health, it’s also beneficial to something else. My pocketbook. Money isn’t something I have a lot of, but I had a whole lot less when I was buying lunch every day.

So next week, I work out 5 days. There. I said it. And saying it makes it real. Hopefully. Seriously though, give me crap for not working out this week, ask me throughout next week how it’s going. As much as I’d like to be that person who doesn’t need anybody else, who can do it all on their own–I’m not. I need you guys to hold me accountable, and you need me for my mad writing skills. It’s a perfect marriage!

Comments
  1. cdub says:

    “Crap”. There, I gave it to you! I need support too & my hubby doesn’t always get that. Good luck on your journey.

  2. Karen says:

    The hardest thing in the world is not having some sort of motivation to go work out. I started this ROC fit class and if it wasn’t for my partner and my trainor there is no way I would be doing this…….find a friend I definately recommend it.

Leave a Reply

