Weighing In (Week 1)

Posted: January 13, 2012 in Exercise, Food, Health, Life, Weight Loss
Tags: , , , ,

So I’ve been thinking. And no. It didn’t hurt. But I did come up with an idea I think you guys are going to like.

This week marked my triumphant return to the gym. I should note here that Monday’s workout was anything but triumphant, in fact, it was downright awful. You guys already knew that if you read Tuesday’s blog. Anyhow, you’ll be happy to know that my workouts got MUCH better as the week went on–and thanks to my boyfriend starting my car at 6am this morning, I even got my lazy ass out of bed and was at the gym by 6:20.

So. My idea. Every Friday I’m going to give you an update on how things are going. I may share some tips, recipes, funny gym stories, or just random thoughts on the whole process. And while I won’t tell you how much I weigh, because a lady never tells, I will tell you how much weight I’ve lost from week to week.

Sooooo…without further ado….

Week 1: January 9-13
Hours spent in gym: 4
Weight Lost: 2 pounds
Total Weight Loss to Date: 2 pounds

I’ll take it! We all know that it’s a WHOLE lot easier to put weight on than it is to take it off. So to lose 2 pounds in a week isn’t too shabby, and if I keep that pace, losing 50 pounds by July should be just about right.

This week has been a REALLY good week as far as eating goes–it’s amazing what you can do when you really want to. I’ve found that for whatever reason I enjoy apples more when they’re cut up, and right now my favorite apple is one called an Ambrosia. Delicious!  I also have the ability to not get sick of a food if I eat it all the time, which I’ve found helpful–because if I can establish a routine with my food, I’m more likely to stay on the healthy food train.

As far as workouts go, here’s my piece of advice this week. If you get to the gym and there’s something you don’t feel like doing, that’s the exact thing you SHOULD do. I alternate weight and cardio days. Wednesday I didn’t go to the gym, so when I went yesterday, I wanted to lift weights–but part of that was because I REALLY didn’t want to do cardio. But you know what I did? I got on that elliptical machine, busted out a 30 minute interval workout and burned 500 calories in the process. And you know what? I felt like a million bucks afterwards. Don’t take the easy way out at the gym–it’s just going to piss you off because you’re not going to see results.

One last thing I’ve learned this week. I can work out for hours if I have a TV in front of me. The new ellipticals at the gym have your own personal, touchscreen televisions on them and they’re AMAZING.

I’m hoping that by me doing this it will not only provide you guys some motivation, but it will also help to keep me on track. I’m not going to want to write this Friday weight loss blog if I’ve eaten McDonald’s for lunch every day that week. Or if I’ve gone to the gym once and walked in and walked out. This is going to help hold me accountable and who doesn’t need more accountability in their lives? I’m looking forward to this and hopefully you guys are too!

Comments
  1. wmarsau says:

    I love your ability to expose yourself to possible failure to ultimately attain what may not have been possible otherwise. Great job!

    • Jill Ford says:

      Steff… you go girl. I do know how hard it is to take off, and easy to put back on!!! We need to not make FOOD the center of our Family gatherings!!!! Behind you ALL the way! I too have started a new “Core exercises” with a personal trainer once a week, but do exercises 5-6 times a week, plus added activities. So let’s ALL get there together this summer!

  2. […] could have put these in my tomorrow’s Weighing In blog—but then two things would have happened. 1) You wouldn’t have had a blog to read today, […]

Leave a Reply

