A Change Is Going To Come

Posted: January 3, 2012 in Health, Holidays, Life, Weight Loss
Tags: , , , ,


So I’m torn on new year’s resolutions. We can resolve to make a change any time we want–that’s the beauty of being an American. So why do so many of us use the new year as an excuse to do it? I’ll tell you why. Because making changes is hard. Breaking bad habits is hard. And we think that if we can put off doing either of those things, it’ll give us just a LITTLE bit more time to revel in whatever vice it is we’re trying to rid ourselves of. You know EXACTLY what I’m talking about too.

Towards the end of the year how many of you found yourself saying, “I’ve got big plans for 2012.” Or how about, “Well I figure I may as well do it now, because come 2012 I’m done.” And it doesn’t matter what you’re done with, whether it be smoking, chewing your fingernails, swearing, eating crap, not working out–we’ve ALL done it. We’re a nation of procrastinators.

I’m not preaching, because I’ve done the exact same thing. 2011 was one of the best years I’ve had in so many aspects of my life, but it also became what I’m going to call The Year of Lazy, which is characterized by wrist pain due to constant channel surfing, gluteus maximus soreness as a result of constantly sitting on it, along with expansion of the belly which experts have said is caused by mindless eating of pure crap.

In 2010, I lost 70 pounds. On a good day in 2011, I’d gained 40 of it back. Ugh. Talk about disgusting. And like so many of you, rather than get up off my duff in September and do something about it, I put it off. And put it off. And put it off. And NOW…because it’s a new year…NOW I can finally do something about it.

So that’s my issue with new year’s resolutions. I think we use them as scapegoats. If you want to change something in your life, change it. Now before you start making excuses for not making changes, hang on. I get that it’s hard. You are currently reading a blog being written by someone who isn’t a big fan of change, and I completely understand that typically the changes that are going to end up with really good outcomes, don’t always start with a really good beginning. In fact the changes that result in the best outcomes, are usually downright hard–but you know what? That’s what makes the outcome so great–the fact that you did something hard and came out okay, more than okay, on the other side.

So make a change. Quit smoking, eat better, work out more, stop swearing, go back to church, volunteer more–find something you don’t like about yourself and change it. I found my thing and I know I can do it, because I’ve done it once before. Not all of you have that to fall back on–but don’t let change scare you. Ends up that the only thing constant in this world is change and the sooner you accept that, the better off you’ll be.

Comments
  1. wartica says:

    I’m glad to hear you set the standards high this year; I think we all need positive goals to set for the next year and on as well. As long as you got a list together then you’re already on the right track.Hope you had a great new year’s day and I look forward to reading more:))

    jonwatersauthor.wordpress.com

  2. wmarsau says:

    Great blog. We can change whenever we want to. My 2012 is going to be the year I finally get healthy again.

  3. cdub says:

    I took your advice before you even wrote it…I started taking fitness classes through Ames P&R this fall. I have stepped it up, slowly, but am taking 4-5 fitness classes each week this session. Good for you, even if you made a resolution to do. You know, not ALL resolutions go belly up. Cheers to getting healthier, resolutions or not. Even if we have to “cheers” with sparkling water to stick with our goals 😉

Leave a Reply

