Mama Said There’d Be Days Like This

Posted: November 12, 2011 in Life
Tags: , ,

Have you ever had a day where you had all sorts of things planned out? Then something happens that throws a wrench into your plans and from that point, nothing goes how you’d envisioned it?

I think we probably all have at some point. I suppose the real question is how do you handle it? Do you roll with the punches and adapt to the situation? Or do you let yourself get in a funk and let it ruin your day along with everyone else who comes into contact with you?

I’m not proud to admit it, but typically I pick the latter. I use the excuse that I can’t help how I feel and while that’s true–I CAN help how I choose to react to a certain situation.

For whatever reason though, I don’t adapt to change well if the change isn’t made on my terms. In an ever-changing world, you’d think I would have realized the importance of going with the flow by now.

I also find it ironic that I rebel against change so much considering some of the best things to happen to me, happened as a result of change. My siblings being born, going to college, moving 700 miles from home. That’s a small sampling, but all of the above presented their own unique challenges, and they all ended up being awesome things.

Honestly, I’ve come to realize I’m a bit of a control freak and I can deal with that–but I have an issue when plans change. An issue that I need to get over because apparently when these issues rear their ugly heads I adopt the motto, “If Stephanie ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.”

I am working on it, but old habits die hard. I pray every day for more patience and tolerance–I suppose maybe I should be praying for people to be more patient with me. I’ll get there. I will. Just try not to change things TOO much on me in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

