The Game of Life

Posted: September 13, 2011 in Celebrations, Family, Friendship, Life, Sports

On Saturday, September 10th, I witnessed one of the best football games I have ever physically watched–and I SWEAR to you I would say that even if my team hadn’t won. Sure, I would have been disappointed–but how many people can actually say that they’ve seen a game in person that’s gone THREE overtimes? It was a battle between two decent football teams. Some people don’t think Iowa and Iowa State should play each other, some think it means more to Iowa State, maybe neither team wins another game this season–regardless of what you think though, if you can’t admit that Saturday was one hell of  a game–maybe you accidentally ended up watching the LSU/Northwestern State game.

Here’s the deal. Those players bust their asses out on that field day in and day out, and when they win a game like this–an intrastate rivalry where they’re playing against former high school opponents, or playing against a school they told no, or maybe even playing against a school who didn’t recruit them–it’s a big deal. Now if they’re not from the state of Iowa–maybe they don’t quite get it, but those of us who DID grow up here, we get it.

So while I was down on the field Saturday watching these players celebrate–players that I’m 10 years older than–I started thinking about how for some of them that will be one of their defining moments. Thirty years from now they’ll be starting stories with, “I remember back in 2011, when we played three overtimes against Iowa. That’d never happened before–did you know that? As a matter of fact that game had never gone to overtime at all before that game.”

So it got me thinking. What defining moments have I had? What things have happened in my life that have changed in to story starters? Here’s what I came up with.

“Oooo…yeah. I broke my ankle once. On a trampoline. Swelled up to the size of a grapefruit and I thought my mom was going to puke.”

“I don’t remember my grandpa’s funeral, but I can tell you that for the first 10 years of my life, he was my guy.”

“I got the academic medallion in high school for graduating with a GPA above 3.6. Granted there were only 26 people in my class, but only five of us got it.”

“I remember the day I graduated from my college. First one in my family to do so, and then my parents bought me a car.”

“I got so sick with tonsilitis my sophomore year of college I had to be hospitalized.”

All those things are things that have happened in my life that I’ll never forget. There are thousands more, and while every single one of those things from the past has helped to shape me–I have a feeling that my biggest moments are maybe still to come.

Those football players will never forget a game like Saturday’s, just like I’ll never forget any of the 2,851 things that have happened to me. But someday, we’ll get to have even bigger moments. Someday I’ll get to tell the 12,743 people I know that I’m getting married, or that I’m pregnant. And someday I’ll get to sit down and tell my kids about the day I married their dad. Someday I’ll get to tell them about the day they were born. And then, when they’re old enough to really understand football–I’ll sit them down and tell them about one of the greatest football games I’ve ever seen in person. And if they’re really lucky–maybe we’ll live in Ames, and I can take them to the place where it all went down.

Comments
  1. Bill Marsau says:

    Outstanding blog! Really makes you think back to all the defining moments of your life. Everyone has their own unique story.

  2. […] I’ve ever seen. I’m not going to recap the games because I already wrote blogs about them. The Iowa/Iowa State game went three overtimes which is pretty uncommon these days, and the Iowa State/Oklahoma State […]

Leave a Reply

