I’m Baaaaaack!

Posted: August 30, 2011 in Friendship, Life, Nightlife
Tags: , , ,

Well hello there. Have we met? I believe we have. A few months back you read a bunch of my blogs and then I up and disppeared on you. Well guess what? I’m back! I should warn you though that for the time being my blogs may not be QUITE as frequent as they used to be–at least not until I can figure out my Internet situation at home. And by situation I mean I need to get the Internet. Ends up most of those blogs that you read back in the day were written on company time–and I can officially say that now without fear of repercussions because I’m not with that company anymore.

So you’d think that after my hiatus I’d be bursting at the seams with blog ideas. I’d be lying if I told you that though. Truth is, I’ve been so busy getting acclimated at my new job (which kicks some serious ass) that I hadn’t really been thinking about blogging. That is until one of my best friends in the whole world brought my recent lack of blogs to my attention. THEN I started thinking about it. So big thanks goes out to her for reminding me that it’s mean to keep my public waiting.

So with that being said–I’m currently living in a college town and am working smack dab in the middle of Campustown. College is in full swing and I see approximately 148 college kids on a daily basis. And while watching them walk in the rain to class today didn’t make me miss college–there are certain things I do miss. Things that probably wouldn’t dawn on me if I weren’t living in the SAME college town I used to rule. Here are just a few of them.

Wearing sweatpants every day. I suppose I could probably still do this but I think my boss may care a little bit more about my appearance than my Principles of Marketing professor did.

Knowing all the drink specials. Granted it would be a tad odd for me to frequent Campustown bars now, but back in the day I knew exactly where to go and on what nights. Now all I know is that the library is open until 9pm Monday through Thursday (I’m blogging there right now).

The bus. Not that I couldn’t still ride it, but there was something about rolling out of bed and getting ready in 10 minutes (see aforementioned wearing sweatpants), and then not even having to drive yourself to class that was somewhat refreshing.

Free time. So I know that in theory you had classes–but most people only had 4 or 5, which means you were in class MAYBE 8 hours a week. Sure you had homework, but if you were smart like me you finished quickly, and then had 10 hours of free time a day.

Classes. Yeah, yeah, yeah. Call me a nerd, call me a dork, but sometimes I actually MISS classes. I like learning, I liked walking around campus with a backpack (except on rainy days, or snowy days), and believe it or not–the library, once you got past how intimidating it was, was actually a pretty cozy place.

Always having someone around. Didn’t matter what I wanted to do. If I need a study buddy, done. If I wanted to go work out at the rec, easy enough. If I wanted to go to the bar, there was a line at my door. Someone was always up for whatever it was you wanted to do. Right now I’m sitting in the library seriously considering leaving after I finish this blog and going to the bar by myself. Lord help me.

I don’t know how many of you had the college experience, and maybe some of you had it but didn’t care for it. I had it, and I loved it. Not ALL of it–I did get an OWI in college, along with a D- in Econ–but the good outweighs the bad by far.

I’m all growed up now though, and as much as that sometimes sucks, it can be pretty cool too. And if I hadn’t had the college experience that I did–I don’t know if I’d be able to say that. So here’s to still living in a college town! If you can get past the fact that you’re maybe a tad too old to frequent the Campustown bars except on Homecoming weekend–you’ll be just fine!

Comments
  1. cdub says:

    You need someone to go to the bar with (preferably not campustown) give me a ring. With 3 kids & a husband who is a ft student I don’t get out much. But I would be willing to “help”, if needed 🙂

Leave a Reply

