Hypocritically Speaking…

Posted: August 17, 2011 in Relationships, Religion
Tags: , , ,

Some of you may know that over the course of the past several months, I have, for the second time in my life, become a pretty devout churchgoer. I absolutely realize that by saying that I could lose half my audience, but that’s okay. Religion and church tend to be taboo topics–and to be completely honest, this one today could be a little intense–but when I come full circle I reckon you may have learned something.

All right. Several months. Me. Churchgoer. Here’s the deal though. I STILL kind of feel like I’m just going through the motions–and I think I may have figured out why this past Sunday. I’m a hypocrite. Plain and simple. And you know what? Most of us are. How do you like them apples? Let me explain.

This past Sunday the sermon was about being scared of change. Anyone ever been afraid of change? Raise your hand. Hm. That’s what I thought. ALL of you. So here was the basic message of the sermon.
God created each one of us for change–to be living, growing, developing persons–different and better tomorrow than we were yesterday.

Okay. Well. When it’s phrased that way, it actually sounds kind of cool. We’re supposed to evolve, and change for the better–where’s the harm in that? The harm is that the situations that cause us to evolve and change aren’t always pretty. If your best friend dies, isn’t that going to change you? If you get diagnosed with cancer I’m pretty sure you’d have no choice but to evolve. What’s that old saying? What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger. Or in this case–different and better tomorrow than we were yesterday.

During the sermon on Sunday, I heard these words. A spiritually growing person takes seriously the dangers of not growing. This is the statement that really got me thinking. Here I am, attempting to grow spiritually, but at the end of the day–I don’t really know if I even KNOW the dangers of not growing–outside of making the trek downward to H-E-double hockey sticks.

That’s when it hit me. I’m a hypocrite. Here I am, going to two church services on Sunday, then I turn around and drop an F-bomb Monday morning. Sunday morning in church, I was hungover. IN church. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to church just to go to church. I go to church because I thoroughly enjoy going, and I really am trying to learn more so that I can better understand things. It’s just that if I’m gonna be in this, shouldn’t I REALLY be in this?

I’m a good person, but you know what I’ve come to realize? I don’t think any of us are as good as we think we are. We’re sinful people, and in fact, I think that maybe some people do as much good as they do–because they feel bad about something. I’m getting more involved in the church so that I can meet more people and what not–but I’d be lying if I said there wasn’t a small part of me who thought it may help to counterbalance the fact that I drink 14 beers on a Friday night and then go sing How Great Thou Art on Sunday morning.

Here’s the thing though. We’re saved by grace and forgiveness. If you continually wronged a person in your life, over and over and over again, that person would eventually reach a point where they’d throw up their hands and walk away. Not God. He doesn’t walk away. Sometimes I don’t understand how He puts up with it all, but he does. I don’t think that gives people a license to be a hypocrite–but it’s nice knowing that he’s got our back if we stray off the path we’re supposed to be on.

I suppose we just continue to strive to be better people. We try not to be so hypocritical. We ask others for help in not being hypocritical. And at the end of the day, we pray. Maybe we thank Him for allowing us to not be a hypocrite on that given day. Or maybe we find ourselves in a spot where we’re praying for forgiveness. But either way–you pray. That’s the only way we can talk to Him, and the only way that we’re going to stand a chance in this crazy world we live in.

Comments
  1. wmarsau says:

    I am a hypocrite too. We really all are in a way if you look at it objectively. Man if flawed by nature. When you are working with a flawed part, you have no hopes of getting it perfect. But that is the whole point. God knows that we won’t always get it right. The idea is that we believe in him and work everyday to do the best we can to try to do the right things. When we mess up, we just need to ask for God’s forgiveness and just try again not to make those mistakes. I applaud you for opening yourself up to the possible criticism of others. That takes a lot of courage!

Leave a Reply

