Stop, Listen, Look, and Think

Posted: August 12, 2011 in Family, Friendship, Life, Relationships
Tags: , , , , ,

Several months back I heard a new song called If I Die Young by The Band Perry. I believe it originally came out as a country song, but now thanks to more mainstream stations playing it twice every hour, I’ve actually learned the words. There’s a part in the song that says this:

A penny for my thoughts, oh no, I’ll see them for a dollar
They’re worth so much more after I’m a goner
And maybe then you’ll heard the words I’ve been singing
Funny how when you’re dead people start listening

Now I don’t mean this to be some ridiculously morbid blog–but those lyrics above are absolutely right. People tell you stuff all the time–they offer advice, and wisdom, and truth–and so many times we disregard it. Until they’re gone. Then we look back on it and we think, “Man. I should’ve listened to him or her. I’ll start listening now.”

So, in light of that, I’m going to offer up a bunch of different advice–some funny, some serious. Your mission should you choose to accept it, is to just listen, and maybe apply a few things. I don’t consider myself an expert on anything–but I do know a little about a lot of things. So sit back and listen up.

  • Sticking your tongue to a frozen pole is NEVER a good idea. It WILL get stuck, it WILL bleed, and you WILL get made fun of.
  • Don’t be reckless with other people’s hearts, and don’t put up with people who are reckless with yours.
  • Volunteer. There’s no better way to put your own life into perspective than by helping those less fortunate than you.
  • Don’t live in the past too much, but don’t overthink the future either–doing those things makes you absent from the present.
  • Everyone has peed their pants before. When you were younger it’s all you did for the first two years of your life. You’re no different than anyone else in that aspect.
  • Don’t hold grudges. It takes far too much time and energy to stay mad at someone.
  • Tell the people you appreciate, that you appreciate them. Tell the people you love, that you love them. Tell the people you can’t live without, that you can’t live without them. Just because those things may be implied doesn’t mean those people don’t still need to hear them.
  • Laughing is like exercise for the soul. Try to do it every day.
  • Go through the American Film Institute’s (AFI) Top 100 movies of all time. They don’t make movies like that anymore, and we’re quickly losing the people who saw most of them in real time.
  • Don’t waste your time with jealousy. Sometimes you’re ahead, sometimes you’re behind. Deal with it.
  • Babies are like lions. They can sense fear. So just relax and know that when they cry, they need one of three things: to be fed, to be changed, or to be held. Aside from the changing part, they’re not that much different than adults.
  • Apologize. Plain and simple. If you’ve done something wrong, or upset someone–you swallow your pride and you say you’re sorry. It takes a much bigger person to offer up an apology then it does to walk away.
  • Do things you did when you were a kid. Color, play in the rain, ride a bike, swing. When you were a kid you were happy and carefree. Recapture that–even if it’s just for a few minutes.
  • Dream. Maybe you want to be president, maybe you want to be a prostitute. It doesn’t matter what your dream is, just have one.
  • Believe in something. Or someone. Our beliefs are what set us apart from rocks. Don’t be a rock.

So there you have it. The best words of wisdom you’ll ever find in one place. Okay. That’s not even remotely true, but I’d like to think everyone can grab onto SOMETHING in there. I figure if I can prevent at least one person from licking a frozen pole, I can consider this blog a success.

Comments
  1. wmarsau says:

    Love this blog. Lot’s of great advice. My favorite one is the one about volunteering. That is so true. I find when I help someone, what I get in my heart far exceeds anything I can do for them.

    • Stephanie says:

      Mine’s the one about telling people stuff. I think sometimes we think we don’t have to say how we feel because they know–but that’s absolutely not true. People DO still need to hear those things.

Leave a Reply

