When Good Things Happen to Good People

Posted: August 11, 2011 in Life, Relationships
Tags: , , ,

All right. So all of you know by this point that I’m taking a new job, and most of you probably also know that I’d been looking for a new job for about two years. All of you I’m sure are also very well aware of the fact that I’m in love and that I’m now co-habitating with that person. Here’s the funny thing though. TWO years I’d been looking for a job and I’m going to say I probably applied for close to 50. Rarely did I ever hear back from the companies I applied with, and when I did it was usually a generic form letter telling me I wasn’t qualified.

So I made the move to Ames and A MONTH TO THE DAY I moved (August 8th), I accepted a job with a new company. I don’t know about you, but I don’t think that’s a coincidence. I know not everyone agrees with me, but I think things happen exactly as they’re supposed to–good AND bad things. I’m a fatalist, and those of you who are realists are crunching numbers right now and are about to come back and tell me that the ratio of Ames residents to open positions is such and such a number–so it makes sense that I got hired. Don’t. I don’t want your numbers. I want to believe that the reason I didn’t get ALL those other jobs is because I just plain wasn’t supposed to yet–I wasn’t where I was supposed to be, and now I am.

Here’s the thing though. I consider myself a good person, and currently good things are happening to me…which for lack of a better word, is good. But I’d be lying if I said that it didn’t freak me out a little bit. I’ve been so unhappy at my job for so long, that it’s hard for me to imagine having a job I like again. I’ve never been in the kind of love I’m in now, and it’s hard for me to imagine being anywhere else. So am I setting up myself for disappointment? Or have things just finally come full circle–are things FINALLY panning out? I sure as shit hope it’s the last one–but the truth of the matter is none of us really know.

Here’s what I do know though. A woman I currently work with popped up on my Skype today and wished me well. She’s been looking for a new job as well and things just haven’t panned out for her. I told her that I think things come together as they’re supposed to (which is usually easier to say when things HAVE come together). She told me that she used to think that too, until things started to unravel. I totally agreed with her, but then told her that after all I’ve gone through…I think the unraveling is part of it. If there was no unraveling, we wouldn’t appreciate the good near as much as we do when it happens.

I told her all this was a bit scary too–because I don’t know how any of this is going to play out, that as messed up as it sounds, it sometimes scares me when things go well. Then she offered me a gem. “Stephanie, I think things are going to get better and better for you from here on out. It’s all looking up for you–don’t live in the future. Enjoy what you have now and REALLY live it.” Huh. Through all of this never once had that thought crossed my worried mind. And you know what? She’s right.

If you can’t appreciate what you have in the here and now, how in the world are you ever going to be able to appreciate things you’ll have in the future? Or maybe more accurately, if you can’t appreciate what you have in the here and now–you may not HAVE anything to appreciate in the future.

So you see…it’s not always bad things that happen to good people. It’s just that I think some of us who would consider ourselves to be good people are so used to bad things happening–that we don’t know what to do when goodness rears its beautiful head. I’m getting there though. You embrace it, and you bask in it, because those good things happened for a reason. And if you can soak in those good things long enough, you may just absorb enough to get you through the next rough patch. Don’t be naive enough to think there won’t be one, because there will. But be wise enough to know that good will come again–and good always outweighs bad. Always.

Leave a Reply

