I’m Movin’ On

Posted: August 10, 2011 in Friendship, Life, Relationships, Work
Tags: , , , , ,

So. It’s official. This girl is moving on. I was offered a new job last Thursday and after thinking about it over the course of this past weekend, I’ve decided to take it. I haven’t been happy at my current job for quite some time, and this new job has the potential to make me a whole lot happier. So even though it was a bit of a pay cut–I guess ultimately I decided that if it lent itself to me being happier it was worth it (the $3,000 savings in gas didn’t hurt either). Thanks to all of you who offered your input, and if you’ve been living under a rock the past week or so and are just finding all of this out–you really should try to get out more.

Here’s the deal though. It’s a little bit scary moving on. I’ve been at this place for 4 years, which if we’re being honest was about 2 years too long, but that’s neither here nor there. I’ve formed some amazing relationships–some that will now become lifelong relationships if I have anything to say about it. Even knowing that though doesn’t make it any easier to leave them though.

Awhile back I was  having a conversation with a good friend/coworker of mine, talking about how badly I wanted a new job, but how hard it would be to leave all the people I work with. I told him that it seemed like everywhere I’d worked, I’d worked with fantastic people, and I was afraid at some point my luck was going to run out. And it’s true–from the time I was 14 working as a motel housekeeper, to working in a couple of different athletic departments, to working where I am now–the people have been amazing. They’ve ranged in all ages, races, religions, senses of humor–you name it, no two people brought the same thing to the table.

After I voiced my concern to my friend he looked at me in disbelief and kind of shook his head. I wasn’t sure what exactly this reaction meant so I asked him. He responded by asking me what the common denominator was in every job I’d had. I sat there and thought for a little while, not sure where he was going. I thought about all my jobs and finally answered that all of them had involved me working with the public. He shook his head and said, “No. YOU. YOU’RE the common denominator.” Then he went on to explain that the reason I’ve worked with such amazing people is because I bring out the best in people. I bring people together and then become the glue that keeps them together.

I don’t know about all that, but maybe he’s on to something. I value my relationships more than anything, but I don’t know that I would have gone so far as to say I’M the reason for the handfuls of successful friendships that have been formed as a result of places I’ve worked. Obviously friendships are a two-way street–but it’s kind of comforting thinking that maybe somehow I really did make a difference here, even if it was a non-work related difference.

Either way you slice it, the fact remains that I’m scared to leave. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve wanted a new job for 2ish years now, but now that it’s finally come to fruition and I’m smack dab in the middle of my last 2 weeks–I’m a tiny bit nervous. Okay. You got me. A lot bit nervous.

I’ve worked with these people, most of them anyway, for 3-4 years. They’re people I’ve stood up for, people I’ve gotten in trouble with, people I’ve had to reprimand, people I’ve eaten lunch with, and people I’ve walked with after work. Above all else though, these people are my friends, and it never gets easier to leave friends. In fact, as we get older, I think it actually becomes harder. I realize that I only live a half hour away from these people, but with as busy as we all are it’s sometimes hard for us to get together outside of work–that always seems to be balanced out though by the fact that we see each other every day.

Then there’s the flip side of this where I’m all worried about my new coworkers. What if they’re lame? What if they hate me? What if they all go out on Thursday nights and don’t invite the new girl? What if I come to work one day and they’ve put a whoopee cushion on my chair and I don’t see it and I sit on it and there’s this loud farting noise and everyone laughs and from that day forward they call me Gassy Stephie? (This last one isn’t REALLY a concern–at least it wasn’t until I typed it out. Crap).

Deep down I know I’ll be okay–and I know everyone I’m leaving will be okay too. It’s just all kind of bittersweet. It’s like…I got a new job–yaaaaaay! But I’m leaving all my friends–booooo! I’ll make new friends though, and then I’ll still have all my old friends–so it’s like a bonus. And these guys will find a new, fearless leader–one that maybe won’t be so angry all the time. This really will work out for everyone involved–but if you should happen to see me in the next week and a half, or just want to drop me a note–remind me of that!

Comments
  1. wmarsau says:

    Great blog! Just remember that when one door closes, another door opens up.

  2. Connie G says:

    If they all go out on Thursday nights and don’t invite the new girl…you know a group that loves/loved to go out on Thursday nights that will be here waiting for you. Gonna miss you SO much!!! 😥

  3. […] at a newspaper, which was 2 too many—I finally got out. Alive. You can read about that fiasco here. Now I’m actually doing something that most college graduates can’t say. I’m working in […]

  4. […] took a new job and in the process took a pretty hefty pay cut. You can read about that whole thing here. So why’d I do it, you ask? My sanity, basically. The job I held previously had sucked the life […]

Leave a Reply

