Family Ties

Posted: August 8, 2011 in Family, Relationships
Tags: , , , ,

So this past weekend I saw all sorts of family. Not as much as I’ll see Labor Day weekend when my cousin gets married, but a lot nonetheless. Not all of the family I saw was even mine, some of it was my boyfriend’s family, and let me just tell you that we did a bang up job of splitting our time this weekend between our two families. Seeing as much family as we did just got me thinking about…well…family. Novel idea huh?

I think the thing that gets to me the most is that there was actually a time where I wasn’t a HUGE fan of my parents. Don’t get me wrong–I wasn’t this problem child who listened to death music in her room. I didn’t ignore my parents for days on end, or run away from home. They weren’t awful by any means. The problem was I was a teenager. And at 16, 17…I was ready to get out on my own. They were cramping my style–although looking back on it now, they were doing anything but.

Now here I am, 28 years old, and my parents are some of my favorite people in the whole wide world. I miss them if I don’t see or talk to them every so often. I never roll my eyes or get pissed off about not being able go out when they call to tell me about a family get together. I haven’t fought with them, like REALLY fought with them, in years. Granted, I don’t live with them anymore and I’m sure that helps, but I can’t remember the last time a voice was even raised while talking to them.

Basically what I’m trying to say here is that I love my family. Without them, I don’t know where I’d be, or maybe more importantly…WHO I’d be. I know that parents are supposed to love their children unconditionally–I think we all know that–but the fact of the matter is, not all parents actually do it. Luckily, mine did. They loved me through several alcohol related offenses, they loved me (albeit through gritted teeth) when I got an OWI, and even though they were angry when I did it–they loved me when I moved 10 hours away to Memphis.

I don’t know how I got so lucky, and you better believe I straight up tell the Big Guy that every night. I don’t know how it is that I got picked to be loved SO much by SO many, but I did. I could just as easily ended up in an orphanage or a foster home, but I didn’t. Instead, I have parents who have been together for 20+ years, siblings who make me laugh and are always there for me–and so much extended family that cares, you wouldn’t even think it possible.

I know some people don’t have what I’m talking about. There could very well be some people reading this right now who cannot relate even a little bit to what I’m saying–and that’s not necessarily due to choices they’ve made. Everybody should have somebody though–and if you don’t, you need to find someone. People think they can get by on their own, but at the end of the day–everyone needs somebody, and it won’t destroy your pride to think that. If you don’t have the luxury of it being a family member, find a friend–and if you run into a problem finding one of those, let me know. I’m pretty good at it, and my family has more than enough love to go around.

Comments
  1. wmarsau says:

    I know that without my family, I would be in a very different spot than I am right now. I think your family is pretty cool though too! lol!

Leave a Reply

