Get A Job…Sha-na-na-na

Posted: August 4, 2011 in Life, Work
Tags: , , ,

I’m just gonna throw this out there, even though it’s maybe not the BEST idea I’ve ever had. Not everyone knows this business that I’m about to throw out there, and once I throw it out there, I can’t get it back. I suppose this is as good a way as any to find out who actually reads my blog. All right. Here it is. I’m actually a man.

Okay. Just kidding. And no disrespect to our actual transgender community–I just thought that might knock the REAL news down a run on this ladder of life we deal with. I was offered a job today. A new job, in a new town, with new people, and new job responsibilities. It’s a job that I’m very excited about–it’s right up my alley and would literally be five minutes from my house. There’s one problem–and I bet you all know what it is. Yep. You guessed it. I have to wear sweatpants to work. Wait. No. That would be a good thing. Money. Money is the problem. As in I was offered less than what I make now. A significant amount less. Gulp.

I hate, hate, hate that it even has to be an issue–but to some extent it’s a factor for everyone. I’ve been waiting on the new job things for some time now, and have no shame in admitting that for the past several months I’ve prayed about it–and it would be just like God to FINALLY let it come to fruition but tack a disclaimer on to it. He’s quite the character that God guy is. I keep asking everyone what to do, God included, and I don’t know yet–and I don’t know if that’s good or bad. If it’s meant to be, shouldn’t I know already? And what if this is his way of saying, “Here. Here’s what you wanted, but you need to be less extravagant. So go be happier, but do it with less stuff.” That seems like it’s right up his alley, doesn’t it?

I would like to note here that I’m not uber-extravagant by any means, I spend within reason–but do I buy things I don’t need? Absolutely. I NEED money to pay my bills. I don’t NEED a new dress for a wedding when I have a whole closet full of dress clothes. I NEED gas so that I can drive to and from places. I don’t NEED to order take out when I have a perfectly good $2 loaf of bread at home.

So I guess the real question here is what I’m willing to sacrifice, because if I take this job–some sacrifices will absolutely have to be made. I’ve NEVER done a budget for myself, and after doing one today–it made me wonder what I’ve been doing with all my money the past few years. It almost made me kind of sick to know what I’m making now, to know what my bills cost me a month, and then to know that I SHOULD have FAR more money left over than I do now. No time like the present to sort that all out though–and if I take the new job, I won’t have a choice anyway.

My apologies. I don’t suspect this blog is really helping anybody, but sometimes I need help believe it or not. So if you guys could either maybe offer input, cross your fingers, or throw up a prayer if you’re the praying kind–it would be much appreciated. While you’re at it, feel free to send monetary gifts too–just in case I take the new job.

Comments
  1. cdub says:

    Been there, done that. I took a pretty good pay cut when I took my job with the state. But the hours were better & I was thinking of my family. Then…it opened a door & I got a huge promotion against a large pool of applicants from inside & out. Now, even though it will be tight (budget-wise), we are stable enough for my husband to quit his job to go back to ISU for a degree.
    That was a long path, but if it makes you happy & is AT ALL do-able you should go for it. I believe in fate…when its right, its right 🙂

  2. j says:

    Consider this. You won’t have to spend as much money for gas because you won’t be driving to Des Moines everyday, you will also save money on Parking…right there you are putting at least $100+ a month back into your pocket! 🙂

  3. wmarsau says:

    Don’t worry. The answer will come to you. You have a good head on your shoulders.

  4. crystal says:

    I think there is a lot to say for doing something you’re truely happy doing (and get to wear sweatpants doing it!). You can go to a job that you really just feel like you’re going through the motions and get paid a lot of money, but in the end all you’re doing is putting in your time, getting your paycheck and coming home. Budgeting is hard but before you know it youre not even noticing it. People spend a huge amount of their life at work; you might as well find someplace you like to be as opposed to dreading getting up and going every day. Don’t get me wrong, taking a cut in pay is not easy but sometimes if opens other doors it pays off in the long run.

Leave a Reply

