Remember that one time last week when I said I was going to write three days worth of list blogs and only wrote one? Yeeeeaaaaah. My bad. Thursday got away from me and before I knew it, I was smack dab in the middle of my weekend. I have big plans to redeem myself though.

You know what the one thing we all love is? No. It’s not Star Wars and massages ARE amazing–but not everyone likes strangers touching them. Food. I’m talking about food. To be fair, people with eating disorders probably aren’t huge fans–but we all have something we like.

Here’s the problem though. It’s hot as shit in most of the country right now. It was 88 degrees with a heat index of 98 at 9:30am this morning. At 2:00 pm it was 96 degrees with a heat index of 110. Eff that. So the sun beats down on your house all freaking day and the last thing you want to do when you get home from work is make your house even hotter by cooking.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I have less of an appetite when it’s hot–so below I’ve listed some smaller things that don’t require much time, energy, or HEAT to make. So without further ado, here’s my “cool” summer foods.

Chicken Salad Sandwich
Wanna make this really easy? Buy canned chicken. It sounds gross but it’s no different than canned tuna, and some of it is 98% fat free. Whip it up with some Miracle Whip Light (which tastes the same as regular Miracle Whip) and you’re done. If you need something crunch in there add some celery to it–or if you want to get really creative, toss some apples in.

Pasta Salad
I don’t think rainbow rotini tastes better but it sure is prettier. You’re going to have to boil noodles for 8-10 minutes–but it’s better than using your oven. Boil those, rinse them with cold water, and then do whatever you want. I suggest cubing cheese (I’ve come to like pepper jack in my old age), and using an Italian vinaigrette (vinaigrettes are typically lower in fat and calories). From there you can add any veggies you want–although broccoli and cherry tomatoes seem to be among the most popular. Feel free to add sunflower seeds, walnuts, or any other kind of nut for some extra crunch.

Cereal
Laugh if you want but cereal is delicious. What other food has THAT many variations AND counts as a meal? Pair it with some toast or a bagel and you’ve got more than enough to get you by. I’m a Cheerios girl myself, but don’t think I haven’t eaten the crap out of some Apple Jacks in my day. Need something sweeter? Pour chocolate milk over Cocoa Puffs. They turn white milk into chocolate milk anyway–why not just eliminate the middleman?

Steamfresh Bags
I don’t know that I can legally use the word Steamfresh–but I’m about to plug them so they couldn’t care, should they? These are fantastic. Now I can steam my food without dirtying dishes OR using the stove. I have issues with frozen processed chicken–but if you’re craving meat and something hot, check out their bagged meals. There are generic versions too–just look in your local grocer’s freezer.

Peanut Butter & Jelly Sandwich
People have been doing it for years and damn near everyone likes it. It is THE epitome of cold lunch. Simple to make, easy to eat. No other food makes you feel like a kid again quite as much as a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. If you REALLY want to channel your inner 8 year old–cut off the crusts and cut your sandwich into triangles. I SWEAR it tastes better.

So there you have it. Five things that can hopefully get you through this heat wave. I hadn’t planned on stopping at the grocery store today, but it seems as though now I’m really craving pasta salad. And Cocoa Puffs. Maybe I can just mix them together?

Leave a Reply

