The Christmas List

Posted: June 24, 2011 in Holidays, Life
Tags: , ,

Final day of the list blogs. I may be in Tulsa, but I still heard the collective groan brought on by using the ‘C’ word in the title of this blog–bear with me though. First off, lots of people do Christmas in July–and while I realize it’s only June, the month is nearly over. Secondly, I’m about to make a really good point–so get out your notebook and write this down. From January to November, I’m constantly seeing things that I want and/or need–things that people could easily buy me for my birthday…or for Christmas. But when it gets to be around Thanksgiving time and I have 17 people asking me what I want for Christmas, I draw a complete and total blank. I look at them with a blank stare, and I wouldn’t be surprised if drool started to seep out the corner of my mouth.

Then you know what happens? I start looking through newspaper ads. I start Googling ‘Christmas presents.’ I stare at my DVD collection for hours on end to see if there’s a movie I don’t have. And then I end up writing things down just for the sake of writing them down–just so I can give someone a list. Then come Christmas Eve I open a present I don’t even remember asking for.

So I’ve decided that I’m going to keep a list of things I need/want throughout the year. Maybe I’ll end up buying them for myself, maybe someone will buy them for me just because, or maybe one of you wants to take care of your good deed for the day. Either way, at least I’ll have a list–and I can cross things off as the year passes. Then…come Christmas I can avoid looking like a deer in the headlights, and can stop feigning excitement for a present I forgot I asked for.

As it stands today, here is my list:

  • A GOOD digital camera. I’m not exaggerating even a little bit when I say I have the oldest digital camera ever made.
  • Seasons 4 and 5 of Friday Night Lights. One of the best shows no longer on television.
  • A grill. Yes. I’m very well aware of the fact that I currently have no place to put it–but if I had a grill I’d make all of you dinner every night.
  • New bedding. I’ll even pick it out so you can take all the guesswork out of it.

Honestly, that’s all I can think of off the top of my head. Thinking any harder would put me into that panicked frame of mind that often accompanies my Christmas list-making, and I’m trying to get away from that.

I’m not going to lie. I’m one of those people that loves Christmas. Decorating, Christmas carols, baking cookies, giving presents–the whole bit. But I know there’s a time and a place for it–and that’s not at the end of June. We’ll get there soon enough without me talking about it. All I’m saying is that if you’re like me and struggle coming up with a wish list–no harm in starting today. Just remember…I will absolutely accept cash in lieu of any of the things I listed above.

Leave a Reply

