The Road Trip Songs List

Posted: June 23, 2011 in Music
Tags: , , ,

It’s Thursday and if you’ve been paying attention the past couple days that means two things. One, It’s day 3 of the list blogs. And two, I’m headed to Tulsa. Mapquest seems to think that it’s going to take 7 hours and 35 minutes to go 496 miles, which I’m convinced is a lie. It should take about 7, although that’s not accounting for stopping for gas and what not. So we’ll say 8 to be on the safe side. In honor of my 4th longest car ride ever–San Antonio, Shreveport, and Memphis take the top 3 spots–top 4 if you count driving to and from Memphis–which would actually make Tulsa my 5th longest car ride ever–I’ve compiled a road trip playlist of sorts.

I am very well aware that only half of these songs were written after I was born, and that with the exception of two of them, none came out later than 1988. I’m also very well aware of the fact that CCR appears on the list twice. They had very road trip-esque songs, and if you have a problem with them appearing on here twice, then only listen to one of their two songs. Betcha can’t listen to just one though!

All of the song titles and/or lyrics talk about traveling in some way, shape, or form, or places you may see while traveling–and just for shits and giggles I’ve put them in chronological order from earliest release date to most recent release date. So sit back, crack a beer (unless you’re driving), and jam out!

Down on the Corner by Creedence Clearwater Revival (1969)

Up Around the Bend by Creedence Clearwater Revival (1970)

Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen (1975)

Go Your Own Way by Fleetwood Mac (1976)

Highway to Hell by AC/DC (1979)

Here I Go Again by Whitesnake (1982)

Get Outta My Dreams, Get Into My car (1988)

Paradise City by Guns ‘n Roses (1988)

I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) by The Proclaimers (1993)

Life is a Highway by Rascal Flatts (2006)

Leave a Reply

