The Bucket List

Posted: June 21, 2011 in Life
Tags: , ,

So here’s the deal. In a day and a half I’m leaving. On a jet plane. Wait. No. That’s inaccurate. I’m actually leaving in a car…a rental car for Tulsa, Oklahoma. I have a fair amount to do between now and then, but here’s my plan. Today’s blog, along with Wednesday’s, Thursday’s, and Friday’s, are all going to be lists of some sort for a couple different reasons. One, I’ve been kinda bad about blogging lately and doing a list type blog makes it easier for me, especially with my trip to a place where the waving wheat can sure smell sweet. Two, it’ll straight up be easier for you guys to read.

So what pray tell is today’s list going to consist of? It’s all about bucket lists today my friends. How many of you have one? And do any of you find it slightly morbid? I mean…it’s a list of things you want to do before you die, which I guess in all reality is just a list of goals–but still. I guess I used to take issue with it a bit, but the older I get and the more I don’t experience things I’d like to–I kind of like the idea of bucket list.

Up until a couple months ago I didn’t have one. If I was going to make one, I wasn’t going to half ass it. If I walked up to a stranger on the street and asked them what one thing they wanted to do before they died was, I’m betting 85% of them would say one of two things. Travel, or go skydiving. Here’s my issue with those things. I have no problem with traveling–but WHERE do you want to go? If you live on a farm outside of Dallas, technically going into town to get groceries is traveling. And skydiving to me just seems so cliché. What is it with skydiving? I mean no disrespect to any of you who are avid skydivers, but I just don’t get it.

Below is my personal bucket list. I carry this around with me every day, just in case I think of something else I want to do. Feel free to steal things from it, or use it as a starting point to write your own. They’re in no particular order, and some will be easier to fulfill than others. So without further ado…

1. Watch a Cubs game at Wrigley Field.
2. Watch an NFL game in person.
3. Visit Ireland and stay in some quaint little village.
4. Ride in a hot air balloon.
5. Eat unbelievably fresh seafood on at least one of our coasts.
6. Ride in a gondola in the canals of Venice.
7. Go to the NCAA Final Four.
8. Go back to Washington D.C. and actually pay attention to the things I saw in 8th grade.
9. Stay at a bed and breakfast in a New England State during the fall.
10. Finish getting my coaching endorsement and coach either high school softball or volleyball.
11. Go through Red Cross Disaster Training and help after a catastrophic event.
12. Get involved either through church or a community band, and play the flute again.
13. Ride in a helicopter.
14. Go on RAGBRAI.
15. Learn how to drive a stick.
16. Get a short story or a book published.
17. Go to the Masters.
18. Learn how to play the piano and/or the guitar.

So there you have it. My bucket list. Here’s something that bugs me about bucket lists though. I think maybe they’re a tiny bit of a cop out. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s good to have things you want to do written down in one place. BUT…there are things on my list that I could be doing right now. I may not have the means to go to Venice today, but I know 729 people who play the guitar–do I not think that ONE of them could maybe teach me a few chords? NCAA Final Four tickets are pretty hard to come by, but the Red Cross is about a 10 minute walk from where I work. It’s like because those are bucket list things, we treat them as though they’re things that we have plenty of time left to do–and while I hate to be a Debbie Downer, that may not be the case.

I guess my call to action here is just as much for me as it is for you guys. If you have things you want to do right now, today, in this very moment–and you have the means to do them, do them. Why wait? I don’t think I’m going to make it to Washington D.C. in the next couple of days, but finding out how to get involved with the music ministry at church is just a click away on the World Wide Web.

I know we all have “things.” Meaning obligations that stop us from crossing things off our bucket list. Some of us have work, some of us have kids, some us may be sick, some of us are maybe just lazy. Whatever your “things” are, do your very best to get past them so that you can start doing the things you want to be doing. This is YOUR bucket list. It may take a few other people to make some of your ideas come to fruition, but ultimately–it has to be you who makes them come true.

So write out your bucket list. Maybe it has two things on it, maybe it has 22. Write it out, and just see what happens. Then start doing. You may find that writing it out was actually harder than the doing part. Don’t wait until your life is hanging in the balance to start doing–your life is yours to live, so live it doing things that make you happy.

Comments
  1. […] my bucket list. 18 things I wanted to have accomplished by the time it’s all said and done. Take a look if you want, I think as far as bucket lists go—mine’s pretty […]

Leave a Reply

