Dem Creaky Bones

Posted: June 15, 2011 in Life
Tags: , ,

I remember riding my bike when I was little all the time. I also remember wiping out all the time, sans helmet. I scraped my hands and my knees more times than I can count, and I’d bet I hit my head a few times too. When I was younger you didn’t wear a bike helmet–maybe that explains what’s wrong with me now. Either way, my point here is that while I did wipe out quite a bit, I remember wincing, occasionally shedding a tear, but then that was it. No lingering pain, no going to the doctor–maybe some Neosporin and a Band-Aid if it was really bad–but definitely no waking up the next morning searching for Advil.

Oh, how those times they are a-changin’. Sometimes in the morning I’ll wake up and hurt from SLEEPING. The one thing that is supposed to restore your body is somehow making me grimace when I roll out of what is actually a very comfortable bed. When did THAT happen? I’m 28, which is far too young to feel that old (no offense to you older people).

I went to the chiropractor Monday and again on Wednesday and it ends up that there were actually some things jacked up. So I’m hoping that helps my creakiness, but the fact remains I can’t do things like I used to. Wait. I take that back. I can do them–but it hurts a lot more AFTER I do them. For example…

  • I love camping. LOVE it. It’s not for everyone and I completely understand people’s arguments against it. Nowadays, you plop me down in a tent and have me sleep on the ground for more than 12 minutes, there better be a chiropractor and/or a masseuse present.
  • I play sand volleyball every Thursday night and I can still hold my own when it comes to passing and serving. And if you want me to dive for a ball I’ll TOTALLY do it, but I may pull a hammy doing so. Which will end up fine since we drink afterwards…and that takes me to my next bullet.
  • I drink from time to time, which is cool. Here’s the problem though. Sometimes I do it like I’m a 20 year old college student again. I can still guzzle them down…why not? I’ll tell you why not. Because if I do that on a Friday night, I’m usually hungover until Sunday night. If I do that on a SATURDAY night…there’s about a 50/50 shot I’ll still feel like ass on Monday at work.

I remember being at my grandma’s house when I was younger and smelling something menthol-y. I asked what it was and she said it was Aspercreme. I asked what it was for and she said it helped muscles feel better, and helped her arthritis. You know what else smells like Aspercreme? Icy Hot. You know who has Icy Hot at home and uses it probably once a week? This girl.

So I’ve probably made myself out to sound like some horribly out of shape blob, which is not the case at all. I’m honestly just getting older. I’ve started working out again, and honestly they may have something to do with my current soreness–but it doesn’t explain the whole hangover thing, which really kind of irks me.

Here’s the thing though. I don’t mind getting older. A lot of good things have happened in the past couple years, and I’m hopeful that the future is going to bring even better things. It’s the FEELING old that I don’t like. I think whoever said that line, “You’re only as old as you feel,” was full of crap. I may still act like I’m 16 from time to time, but I feel like I’m 66 when I roll out of bed in the morning. You may as well sign me up for AARP. At least then I’d get discounts on things.

I realize this may be coming across as complaining and I don’t mean for it to. I suspect as I work out more, I’ll feel better–so I can change this whole body ache thing I’ve got going on. In the meantime though, if you guys want to invest in the cross country trek I’m currently planning to find the Fountain of Youth let me know. You’re also more than welcome to send checks–just make them out to Oldie McOlderson. The bank will know who you’re talking about.

 

Leave a Reply

