Down With the Sickness

Posted: May 10, 2011 in Life
Tags: , ,

I left work today not feeling real well. I’ll be okay, but it got me thinking about all the different things in our lives that can make us sick. I’m not just talking about one too many funnel cakes at the fair either, although that kind of sick is NOT a fun one. So below I’m going to talk about a few different things that can give us that unpleasant, sick feeling. I’m not feeling overly witty today, and I’m writing this after a nap, but I hate to disappoint my public…so bear with me.

1. Food can make you sick.
This one is pretty self explanatory, and I would bet that all of us have at least ONE food we can’t eat because at SOME point in our lives we threw it up. Mine is the Cheesy Hashbrowns that Hamburger Helper makes. I was maybe 16 years old, and about 3 hours after eating it, that crap came right back up. Worst part is it came back up the EXACT same way it went down–I’d highly recommend not throwing up hashbrowns if it can be avoided.

2. Drinking can make you sick.
Cotton mouth. Pounding headache. Urpy stomach. Sounds like a hangover to me. How many times have we woken up after a night of drinking and said, “I’m never drinking again.”? And have you ever noticed that the morning after you either wake up unbelievably late but feel like you slept for about 45 mintues, or you wake up unbelievably early and still feel like you slept for about 45 minutes? I’m not sure why we put ourselves through it, but I will leave you with one tidbit of advice. Under NO circumstances, regardless of your age, should you EVER drink Everclear. Trust me.

3. People can make you sick.
I’m not talking so much about someone coughing on your face and giving you a cold. Don’t get me wrong though–SOMEONE made me so sick my sophomore year of college that I ended up in the hospital with tonsilitis and the biggest abscesses on my tonsils my doctor had seen in 40 some odd years. I’m talking more about people’s behaviors. The world is a shitty place–your own personal world may not be, but we’re surrounded by horrible things, and them not affecting you doesn’t make them any less horrible.

4. Worry can make you sick.
I’m a worrier. Shocker. And I have worried myself sick about PLENTY of things–some warranted, some not. My grandma being in the hospital–worth the worry. Someone not texting me back within 3 mintues–not so much. Everyone worries some, and if you are one of the 14 people in the word who has no worries, I actually am NOT jealous of you. In my mind, people who don’t worry (to some extent), don’t care. Maybe that’s me trying to make me feel better about my own worrisome nature, but everyone has to have a crutch.

5. Love can make you sick.
This one can go both ways. Love can absolutely consume you. You may have found that person that you want to talk to all the time, the person you’re still excited to see when you do see them, the person who knows what you’re thinking before you do–and if you have that, then you know that you’ve come down with the sickness. Not the kind that materializes as a cough and a runny nose–but the kind that gives you the chills and raises your temperature all at the same time. The kind that makes your heart skip a beat–the kind that gives your stomach that funny butterfly feeling. Now there’s a flip side to this. A ruined love can make you sick too. If that love we just talked about ends, it can be absolutely devastating. The chills and the raise in temperature change into wanting to sleep and tears. The heart skipping a beat turns into anger, and the butterflies turn into wanting to curl up in a ball.

As humans we’re prone to sickness of all sorts. There’s probably 2,745 more things I could have listed that can contribute to sickness. That’s the bad news. Here’s the good news. As humans we all have the ability to heal. It doesn’t matter if you’re nursing the worst hangover ever, or you’re worried sick  about something beyond your control–as humans, we bounce back. Sometimes it takes hours, sometimes months, sometimes years–but sicknesses run their course and once they do, we usually find that we come out stronger on the other side.

Obviously there are some exceptions to this, but overall we’re pretty resilient people. Some are more resilient than others, but it’s in all of us to be strong. At the end of the day, while you do have an inner circle that can help you heal, the bulk of the work is on your shoulders–and sometimes that sucks.

I don’t know what most of you guys have going on right now. Maybe you’re in a spot where no healing is needed right now, and that’s great if that’s the case. But at some point, the tables will turn–after all, the fair IS coming up. So just remember, that when those tables DO turn, and you’ve completely disregarded my advice about not drinking Everclear–you WILL end up okay when it’s all said and done.

Leave a Reply

