Today is Alive With the Sound of Music!

Posted: May 6, 2011 in Music
Tags: , ,

All right. So here’s the deal. I’m short on time and I’m not feeling overly creative today thanks to the Black Velvet I drank last night. Don’t judge me. So my thinking here is that since it’s SO unbelievably nice outside, I’d put together a little mini-playlist of feel good songs. I actually came up with like 15, but that was way too many to post, but I think I have it whittled down to five. Further down the road I may have Part Two to this blog and post some more.

So below are five songs that just make me want to dance. And sometimes I do. Usually in my car though…so I don’t really know if that classifies as dancing or not? These are songs that you absolutely find yourself singing along too–some of them are flat out GREAT songs, others are more of the guilty pleasure kind. But either way…they’re all awesome in their own right. So crank the volume and grab a drink. Careful not to spill as you dance your ass off though!

1. Walking on Sunshine by Katrina & the Waves
An obvious choice, but seriously. The shriek at the very beginning and the beat of the song…how can you not smile and want to dance to this song?

2. Footloose by Kenny Loggins
If you don’t like this song OR the movie, I’m not sure we can be friends anymore.

3. Come on Eileen by Dexy’s Midnight Runners
This song will forever remind me of Tommy Boy. I don’t really know what they’re saying in this song besides “Come on Eileen” and I don’t know what a midnight runner is, but the song makes me want to dance. So step off.

4. Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da by The Beatles
Did you know that after this song was released the names Desmond and Molly skyrocketed in popularity? I actually just made that up, but this song makes me want to bob up and down. Not like that you perverts.

5. Old Time Rock and Roll by Bob Seger
When I went to go find this YouTube link I started dancing in my chair. Apparently I made the right choice in choosing this for the list.

All right! There they are. I’m not saying they’re the five best songs EVER or anything. They’re just good old fashioned having fun songs–you know, the ones everyone dances to at wedding receptions. And the ones I dance to in my bedroom. Wait. I wasn’t supposed to tell you guys that. Ummm…have a good weekend everybody! =)

Comments
  1. Terd Ferguson says:

    This is the greatest blog of all time! Thank you for giving me a reason to live. I love basking in the beam of light that is your greatness.

Leave a Reply

